The Origin of the Names of the Days of the Week.

Odin!

English is a mongrel language because bits of it come from all over the world. But a lot of the days of the week are actually taken from the Viking gods.

Monday is short for Moon-day; this is from a time when people worshipped the sun and the moon.

Tuesday is from the Viking God of Justice, Tyr; and means Tyr’s day.

Wednesday is from Woden or Odin and means Woden’s day.

Thursday is from Thor and means Thor’s day.

Friday is named after Odin’s wife, Freeya, and means Freeya’s day.

Saturday is named after the planet Saturn and means Saturn’s day.

And finally, rather obviously, Sunday means the day of the Sun.

Now as a practising pagan, we all have our favourite Gods and Goddesses but my personal favourite is Odin. Sometimes I feel guilty and think because I am a woman I should honour a female Goddess more but Odin’s hold on me is too strong and I always come back to him. He is the God of my three favourite things; wisdom, poetry and magic. Odin has a reputation for being deceitful and cunning but I think he’s just smart. Who would want to worship a stupid God, after all?

3 thoughts on “The Origin of the Names of the Days of the Week.

  1. Pingback: Pagan Blog Project – O is for Odin | My Wiccan Walk

  2. Pingback: SATURDAY! | My Life In Color

  3. Pingback: The Wanderer | Christina's Corner

Leave a Reply

