Views about the storing and keeping of books.

There is no such thing as too many books.

My sister and I are both of the belief, stated above, that there is no such thing as too many books.  Now my sister got engaged last year and her mother-in-law-to-be, while being a lovely woman, is of the persuasion that once you have read a book you should get rid of it.

Now to my sister and I this view is little short of blasphemy.  Said mother-in-law-to-be is always asking my sister “You haven’t bought any more books, have you?” to which the answer is always “yes”.  Mother-in-law-to-be is not unkind or unpleasant but its just that she has a different view about the storing and keeping of books.

My sister and I do not keep every book we buy, we’d both probably need to borrow the storage space of the British Library to do that!  We both have occassional culls where unread volumes or things we bought that turned out to be dreadful are given to various charity shops.  But we do both keep a lot more books than we give away, meaning that space on our bookshelves is at a premium.

But we like it that way.  I know for a fact that we both enjoy re-reading favourite books and the idea of giving away a great book would be a crime to us.  My sister would probably rather give me away than a favourite book!  So while mother-in-law-to-be may have a lovely neat house while we have saggy bookshelves groaning under the weight of all the tomes jammed into them, we just wouldn’t change a thing!

What about you?  Are you a thrower or a keeper?

One thought on “Views about the storing and keeping of books.

  1. I’m more of a keeper than a thrower (as you’ve probably guessed from all those Facebook posts), but I live (oddly enough, I actually married) someone like your sister’s future MiL. In the end, he’s given in far more than I ever did… Keepers Rule!

Leave a Reply

