Film Friday – Lawless

Gary and I both liked this film a lot though the fact that its set in one of our favourite time periods goes someway to explaining why.  Its set in 1930s Mid-West just before the end of prohibition.  The cast is pretty stellar too with a cameo from Gary Oldman, who is always one of my favourite actors, and Guy Pearce plays one of the meanest baddies I’ve ever seen.

However I must say, if you don’t like the sight of blood and graphic violence then don’t go and see this film.  It even includes a brief glimpse of a pair of testicles in a jar!  The script is by Nicholas Cage and I thought it was really good and the soundtrack is to die for!  It’s all folk songs and stuff like that which I love and includes performances by Emmylou Harris and Wille Nelson and a really original version of the Lou Reed song White Heat/White Light.

The photography was very beautiful in parts as well and it was very atmospheric.  As a historian I didn’t spot any obvious historical inaccuracies.  I think Hollywood is getting a bit better at the research.  All in all, a great film that we both enjoyed very much!

Leave a Reply

