I hate dogshaming!

There’s a new craze on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter for something that’s called dogshaming.  It consists of posting a picture or video of your dog with a sign next to them saying something like ‘my farts are smelly’ or ‘I wee on the carpet’.

A lot of people seem to find this hilarious but I’m sorry but I don’t.  I think that for the love, loyalty and total honesty that you get from a dog the occassional widdle on the carpet or smelly fart is a small price to pay.  A dog is one of the most beautiful animals on this planet and I just don’t think its amusing to want to reward their love by humiliating them.

If any animal should be shamed; it should be us.  Dogs don’t start wars.  Dogs don’t chop down the rainforest and pollute the whole planet.  Dogs are infintely better behaved than most humans (apart from the bum sniffing!)  As far as I can see dogs have nothing to be ashamed of but we have!

7 thoughts on “I hate dogshaming!

  1. Excellent post, Janet! I didn’t know this was occurring but when it comes to human behavior, I am usually ashamed. Again, thank you for writing this thought-provoking post.

    Karen

  2. I hate dogshaming too. Instead of putting a sign on the dog when it pees on the floor. I think the sign should go around the human that says “I’m an irresponsible pet owner who leaves my dog all day and doesn’t give it a proper elimination area”.

  3. Almost all the things the dogs do on dogshaming.com is the RESULT of negligence on the part of the owner. “I fart all night and wake up my parents!” = I feed my dog shitty dog food made up of ingredients that dogs really shouldn’t be eating, but I’m a lazy human and don’t really care. “I tpre up everything in the bathroom!” = I was locked in the bathroom for 8 hours while my “parents” were at work and I was bored and anxious and didn’t know what else to do. “I jumped on the table and peed on it!” = I was never trained not to jump on furniture and I needed to go to the bathroom but everyone was ignoring me. I hate this site. I can just envision the owners waiting around for their dog to “be bad” so they can get their 15 seconds of fame on this lame site.

Leave a Reply

