Everybody Else Syndrome

I often suffer from what I call ‘everybody else syndrome’.  What this amounts to is thinking that everybody else is writing every day, everybody else has finished their novels, everybody else’s work is selling.  I’m the only one who sucks, I’m the only one who can’t get her lazy behind into gear, etc. etc.

Its the belief that everybody else in the world is doing fabulously and you’re the only person who isn’t.  I think we’ve all felt like that at times but when you  look at it logically its nonsense.  Everybody struggles with problems.  Its an utter fantasy to imagine you’re the only one who suffers.  And you name a problem and I can guarantee you’re not alone in suffering from it.  You only have to surf the net to see that.

When I was at university I often imagined I was the only one struggling with the work but an hour spent chatting to the other students soon cured me of that idea.  The best way, in my opinion, to rid yourself of ‘everybody else syndrome’ is to talk to other people because it helps to give you back your perspective and realise that as John Donne used to say :No man is an island, Entire of itself.”

This post was inspired by L.S.Engler and as a first(!) I’m including a link to her original post.  I hope I do this right!

http://lsengler.com/2012/08/20/the-awkward-blogger/

6 thoughts on “Everybody Else Syndrome

  1. You are not alone! We all think we’re doing poorly, not doing enough, and so on, and that we’re the only one. But we’re not, and that’s good news. And the other part of the good news? We’re not nearly as bad or behind or whatnot as we fear we are. As a matter of fact, we’re awesome! I think it’s great that you put this out there to remind us all that we have company. Thanks!

  2. Awww, I’m so flattered to be your first reblog! And I’m kind of eating up the deliciousness of the fact that it was a post about being all flaily about blogging, too. Thanks for sharing it with everyone! We are definitely not alone, and we are also definitely awesome.

  3. Pingback: Embracing the Awesome. | L.S. Engler

Leave a Reply

