Let’s talk about Emily Swann

Okay; I admit it.  I hate marketing!  Its just not me!  But in this new world of indie publishing, it has become unavoidable so I’m going to have to try.  Now I don’t want to be one of those irritating people shouting “buy my book, buy my book” at everyone over and over again because nobody wants that, least of all me and I hate it when anyone does that so I know you guys out there would hate it to.

From what I’ve read, and I’ve been reading up on the subject for a while, it seems that one is supposed to establish a rapport with one’s vast(!) following and then gently lead them, through a series of links to buying your book.  Now as I have the technical savvy of a dead ferret, setting up websites and newsletters and all the rest of it seems quite beyond my competence and quite frankly, fills me with terror.

I’ve got as far as registering with Mail Chimp but that’s all.  So I thought if I told you all a bit about the novel I’m writing and some of the characters and a bit of the setting and so on that some of you might become so fascinated by it all that if I have to self-publish you will all rush out and buy it and even if it does get a mainstream publisher, you’ll rush out and buy it just the same.

The novel is set in 1816 in the village of Emsworth in Hampshire, which is just outside Portsmouth.  Emily Swann is a ten year old girl and, due to the death of her father she is an heiress to a vast fortune.  But her uncle, Steven Swann, is a greedy bastard and he wants that money.  He can’t get it unless Emily is dead so he decides to murder her.

But Emily is a very smart girl for her age and she has an added advantage of being psychic.  She knows what her uncle is like and she quickly figures out what he’s up to.  She turns out to be a much more formidable opponent than Steven thought she would be.  Will Steven kill Emily?  Will Emily outwit Steven and survive?  You’ll have to buy the book (when its finished) and find out!

Leave a Reply

