ROW80 Check-In 11/04/2012 Flying Without Wings!

Gosh it’s only Wednesday and I’m doing well; much better than I thought in fact.  Did only one page today but it was the last page of chapter two.  Yesterday I managed four pages!  Did two and a half pages on Monday and just one page on Sunday.  That’s still eight and a half pages of editing in about four days!

I wanted to finish the final revision of Emily Swann in this round of ROW but I’m beginning to realise that that is an impossibility.  I’ve realised with editing that I need time and space to revise things properly.  I tend to do a bit and then look at it the next day because on the day I’ve typed it I can’t really tell what needs changing.  If I wait a day it just becomes clearer to me what is working and what isn’t.  This does mean that it takes me about a week to edit each chapter and I’ve got thirty-six chapters to do!  So by my reckoning it will take me about nine months to finish.

I don’t know why I was in such a hurry; perhaps its because I’m getting old.  I’ll be forty-seven in June and I sometimes worry that I’m running out of time which is probably silly.  I think I’m learning to accept that it will take as long as it takes to finish Emily Swann.  I am determined not to rush it too much so that it comes out all wrong.  I would be unhappy with myself if I sent it out before it was as good as I could possibly make it.  I’m making good progress so I refuse to beat myself up for not making swifter progress!

Leave a Reply

