ROW80 – Another Round of ROWing!

Well the next round of ROW starts today so I thought I’d better hop on board.  I’m cutting my goals down to the bone for this round.  I’ve decided to focus on only my most important objective, so for this round my goal is to finish Emily Swann (my novel).  I finished the first draft in about two months but the editing process has been going on for five months already and I’m still a long way from being finished.

I think the problem was that I decided to try and work as a ‘pantser’ but it just didn’t work for me.  Now I’ve almost finished doing the outline that I so desperately need and once that’s sorted I think I’ll be able to see the wood for the trees and separate the whole thing in chapters.  This should make it easier because it will be in nice do-able bite sized chunks so I’ll be able to focus on editing one chapter at a time and getting that perfect before moving on to the next one instead of trying to edit the whole thing in one big chunk which was just not working and leaving me feeling overwhelmed.

So no more ‘pantsing for me!  I have to face the fact that I just prefer to work with an outline.  It was nice to try out something different but it didn’t work.  At least now I have a better idea of what works for me.  So my first minor goal is to finish my outline; I’m just working out the timeline of my novel now which is proving to be trickier than I thought.  Anyone know how long a broken leg takes to heal?

Hope to finish my outline by Sunday and then it’s just the Mount Everest of editing the chapters one by one.  I hope at least that when I get started I’ll feel like I’m making progress and finally have the end in sight.  I now have not one but two styes in my left eye because I’ve been stressing too much over this stuff!

Leave a Reply

