ROW80 Check-In 22/02/2012

A middling week; have done about two and a half pages of Emily Swann since Sunday.  It’s not as much as I would like but its better than nothing!  I’m supposed to be doing two pages a day according to my earlier goals.  This is a target I know I can meet easily if I try so I’m reluctant to scale it down.  I don’t know why I’m finding two pages a day so hard at the moment.  I always feel guilty when I hear of other writers working for hours every day because compared to them I seem so lazy!  The most I’ve ever done was during NaNo when I did about two hours/two thousand words a day!  If I did six to seven hours a day at that pace I would have written about ninety novels by now!

Managed the two poems, blogging and writing my diary every day stuff.  Have started reading The Eye in the Door by Pat Barker which is the second part of the Regeneration trilogy.

Think I’m going to have to try to do what Bob Baker suggested (see yesterday’s post) and set aside a regular writing time.  Mornings would never work for me!  But I might be able to do 2-4p.m. most days.  Have to check with lovely hubby and see what he says.

So not much to report I’m afraid.

4 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-In 22/02/2012

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Sometimes we have to take a look at how we are feeling about our writing. Be kind to your writer and find time to do something fun.

    I used to think I had to have at least two hours to be able to write. Now with wordmongering and 750words.com I tend to write in 15 to 30 minute stretches and I like it much better. It forces me to get to the point and write faster. Now I look at those two hour blocks and think no wonder I wasn’t writing a lot back then. I would be so daunted by the thought of having to write for two hours that I found myself procrastinating. If this happens for you then you might think about allotting yourself 15 to 30 minute stretches throughout the day. Just a thought.

    Peace,
    Morgan

    • Well when I was doing NaNo I regualrly wrote for two hours a day so I’m going to give it a try and see how I get on. If it turns out to be a dismal failure then I’ll obviously have to re-think it.

Leave a Reply

