Oh no! Not another poem!

In 2002 I started my history degree at Bath Spa University.  I wasn’t aware of it at the time but in the first year they like you to pick a second subject.  At first I didn’t want to and wondered if I could get out of it because I thought there was nothing else I wanted to study.  Then I realised that they did Creative Writing so I chose that.  One of my teachers on the course was a poet called Tim Liardet who as well as being a great poet is also a really nice man.  I took one of his courses and he gave me 70% for it!

One of the exercises he set us was to think of all the preconceptions we have about poetry and poets and write a poem embracing all of them.  This poem was the result.

 

In Order to be a Poet…..

 

You don’t have to be high brow, low brow or a cow.

You don’t have to be mad, bad or sad.

You don’t have to have a PHD, a GCSE or be an S.O.B.

 

You don’t have to be well read, well bred or dead.

Don’t have to be Greek, a geek or a freak.

Don’t need to be hairy, scary or a fairy.

 

Don’t need to be medicated, alienated or inebriated.

Don’t need to be poor, a whore or insecure.

Don’t need a Rolls-Royce, or to be James Joyce, just need your own voice.

 

 

 

One thought on “Oh no! Not another poem!

Leave a Reply

