ROW80 Check-In 22/01/2012

Is it me or is this year going really quickly?  I can’t believe that almost a whole month has gone by already!  A fairly productive few days for me.  Have blogged, read a poem and written by diary every day.  Glad that I’ve got into a routine for those three now and so it feels pretty natural and easy to do them all.  Emily Swann is going well too.  Have edited about five pages since Thursday; didn’t do anything on Wednesday but I’m not going to beat myself up over that.  Am thinking about building in one or two rest days a week as I’m finding that I feel more ready to work on Emily Swann when I miss a day sometimes.  But if I miss two days in a row then guilt and self pity appear and I start to feel useless and hopeless.  I’m worried that if I rest too often a) Emily Swann will never be finished and b) I will get depressed.

I’m currently working on the second draft of Emily Swann and when that’s finished I plan to print off this copy (which I doing on my laptop) and put it next to my handwritten first draft and then pick out all the best bits and shape and polish it up till its as near perfect as I can get it.  I think it will take at least three drafts to get it up to publishable standard.  When I’ve finished the third draft I will let Gary read it and see what he say.  By virtue of being my lovely hubby he always gets first read.

Doing crap on the 50/50 challenge; so far have read two books and not sat through a single film but next week we’re going to see J. Edgar so that will at least kick that goal off.  Did read another chapter of the Plot and Structure book.  Getting totally engrossed in The Game of Thrones but can’t include that in my50/50 challenge because I starting reading that just after Christmas.

6 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-In 22/01/2012

  1. It’s definitely not just you; I cannot believe it’s almost the end of January already! I won’t complain too much; the sooner we’re out of January, the closer we are to spring!

    So good to hear that the draft is going well. Definitely keep the momentum going; I’m the same way in that, if I miss more than a few days, I start to feel it, but, on the bright side, even if I start to feel that depression, eventually a wave of creativity comes along and sweeps it away.

    Good luck with the rest of the week,too!

  2. Sounds like a great week to me! and yes indeed this month has flown by, pretty sure next month will too, being slightly shorter and all. I reckon you can include Game of Thrones in the 50/50 as even though you started it before the new year you are still reading it now, so I would include it 🙂
    I’ve booked in at Arvon, Totleigh Barton for the 7-12th May Creative Writing course with Mark Haddon and co as the tutors 🙂

    • I’m such a boring little good girl that I feel guilty if I break the rules even a smidgin. The Arvon course I want to do is a poetry one at the end of September but I haven’t booked it yet as I’m planning to do it as a reward to myself for paying off my credit card and I should have done that by the end of February.

  3. Hey, I agree with you… January certainly has gone by with quite quick succession… still we shouldn’t complain as soon enough the light nights will be here and the warm mornings. Great progress on all your goals keep it up 😀

  4. Yes I looked at the cherry tree in my back garden yesterday and there are little buds all over it where the new leaves are starting to sprout so Spring is definitely on its way.

Leave a Reply

