One of my least favourite words.

I’ve always had a thing about the word ‘should’.  In fact, I hate it.  It’s that tone of admonishment that I don’t like.  You should eat properly.  You should exercise more.  You should learn a language.  You should read Wuthering Heights.  Why?  Who says?  Who are these people who think they have a right to tell us all what to do?  It really gets on my nerves.  I realise that some things like eating correctly and exercising are good for you but I don’t like having them shoved down my throat!  If anything is guaranteed to make me eat crap and loll on the sofa it’s going on about healthy eating and exercise.

Like most people in life I follow my passions and I do the things that interest me.  I love Shakespeare but my husband can’t stand him.  I love listening to Led Zeppelin but my sister and husband hate them!  That’s okay; I’m not a one woman police state.  I don’t mind if people disagree with me.  But I do the things I do because I love doing them.  Yes, I have to do housework and stuff which I hate but in my free time I don’t play darts (Yuk!) or read about Nuclear physics (Doh!) because I don’t want to.

One thought on “One of my least favourite words.

  1. Hahahahaha… I have heard some of the Self Help cats say, “Stop Shoulding all over yourself.”

    I think the last guy I heard say it was the guy who does the Sedona Method.

    Here’s a sneak peek of Wuthering Heights:

Leave a Reply

