ROW80 Check-In 16/11/2011

What a smug bitch am I!  Really good news; I’ve finished the first draft of Emily Swann, a full five and a hlaf weeks ahead of schedule!  Feel dead chuffed with myself.  No offense to anyone else but I have discovered that when I write, I must write really quickly because I had no trouble, when I was doing NaNoWriMo, completing 2000 words a day, often doing it between noon and 4pm.  I always used to feel guilty when I read of some writers who were writing for like eight hours a day or something like that.  I very rarely do more that an hour a day so I though I must be the laziest bitch around but my word count keeps climbing up and up so I can’t be doing that badly.

About a month ago I bought ‘Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook’ by Donald Maass, so now I have my first draft I’m going to use this book to help me polish and edit Emily Swann.  I must admit that I hate the editing process, it always smacks of failure to me, like I couldn’t get it right first time.  Silly really.  Another thing that worries me is that, at the moment, Emily Swann is way too short.  It stands at just over 30,000 words.  My first novel, Blood Addiction, was only about 45,000 words.  I can’t believe I’m going to add about 40,000 words in the process of re-writing so it will probably always be a short novel.  That’s another thing that makes me think my work is not good enough because I start to think that if they’re too short it must be because they don’t have depth.  I’m never convinced anything I write is ever good enough though I’m sure I’m not alone in thinking this.

3 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-In 16/11/2011

  1. You’ve definitely earned the right to be a smug bitch; congratulations on finishing the first draft! That’s always exciting. Just keep that smugness through the editing process, no matter how much you have to change, because you can just think of how much more awesome you’re making it!

    I’m also a firm believer that length does not necessarily mean depth. Sometimes, length just means filler! Some of my favorite authors are my favorites because they have the incredible power to say a whole lot of things in an incredibly small amount of words, and that’s real talent. Make every word count and it won’t matter how long or short it is.

    Best of luck to you in your editing! Always try to keep positive and take what’s already awesome and make it even better!

  2. Congrats! That’s great news. But seriously who gets it right the first time? That would be like winning the lottery 25 times in a row. Don’t feel bad about length. The story will end up being as long as it needs to be. It may be a novel or a novella. You’ll never know until you’re done. Finish it first then worry about how to sell it.

  3. Woo hoo! Five and a half weeks early? That deserves a huge bunch of smugness, for sure!

    As for the editing process, think of the novel writing as more like sculpting. The first draft is when you get the basic shaped carved out of the stone. Now you must go over it again, cleaning up the lines, making them more precise, and so on. It’s just not a single pass sort of art.

Leave a Reply

