ROW80 Check-In 30/10/2011

Well I said I wouldn’t but I changed my mind.  I’m probably mad to do it but I signed up for NaNoWriMo.  I’m already writing my second novel entitled Emily Swann but I couldn’t resist the challenge of trying to write a first draft of a novel in a month.  I thought about it and thought about it and I couldn’t get the idea out of my head so against my better judgement I decided to jump in and try.  I’ve never done it before and I’m not sure it’s such a good idea to try and write two first drafts at the same time but never mind.  The worst thing that can happen is that I don’t achieve anything on either project and although that would be depressing, it wouldn’t be the end of the world.

My trouble is that I have so many book ideas.  I was counting them up and writing them down yesterday and I have ideas for another five full length novels, not including the one I’m working on now, plus an idea for a screenplay; I never struggle to come up with ideas, its just finding the time to write them all down!

But enough of that.  This week I achieved a word count of 4,200 which I’m very pleased with.  I didn’t do all my blog posts; I missed Wednesday’s check-in because I wasn’t feeling very well and I was supposed to blog yesterday but I actually forgot about it!  Have been reading the poem a day, sometimes more than one, which is good.  Next month I’m cutting the blog posts to two a week and that will probably just be the check-ins.  Because I’ve upped my word count, I’ve been reading a lot less though I think I’ll make January a reading month.  I usually get a book token or Amazon voucher for Christmas so I’ll buy some good books and read them in January; should have a bit more time then too.  I want to stick to my target of 500 words a day for Emily Swann but I’ll need to do 1,700 words a day on NaNoWriMo to finish 5000 words in a month.

I’ll probably aim for 2000 words a day on NaNoWriMo because there’s bound to be days when we have to go out shopping or something and if I just do the bare minimum everyday I’ll end up falling behind.  But it just means I’ll have to do 2,500 words a day and the thought is giving me palpitations!  Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-In 30/10/2011

Leave a Reply

