Traffic in Turkey

I consider myself to be quite widely travelled as I’ve been to Brussels, Amsterdam, Barcelona, Marseilles, Hong Kong, Naples, Rome, Florence, Orlanda, New York, Palm Springs, Los Angeles, Las Vegas and probably a few other places I might have forgotten to mention but I have never seen anything like the traffic in Istanbul.  It’s like a cross between a Roman chariot race and a stock car rally.  I got a Lonely Planet guide book for Istanbul and it made me laugh when I read the advice about car hire; it said something like “if you’re thinking of driving in Turkey, don’t!”  That is advice I have to agree with.  What was amazing was that Gary and I only noticed one car that was a bit scraped when we were over there and we never witnessed a single accident.  I would hate to drive over there and I dread to think what their insurance premiums must be like!

This picture doesn’t really get the awfulness of it but it was a hard thing to capture in a photograph.  You’re just going to have to take my word for it!

Leave a Reply

