My Favourite Books – Part Six

The next book I have chosen is called Charlotte’s Web by E.B.White.  I can’t remember exactly how old I was when I first read it but it was the first book that made me cry.  I wept buckets at the end when Charlotte the spider dies and I hate spiders!  But this little book is so moving and so lovely; it’s just a simple story of a runty pig who gets saved by the farmer’s daughter and then gets so well fed and fat that they decide to sell him to be slaughtered but when his farmyard friends hear about this they decide to help out.  It is his best friend Charlotte the Spider who saves him by weaving wonderful messages into her web.  I just love this book although is does have a sad ending it is still a beautiful and uplifting book.

Leave a Reply

