My favourite books – Part four

The next book I’ve picked that influenced me greatly is Look Homeward Angel by Thomas Wolfe (not to be confused with the author Tom Wolfe who wrote Bonfire of the Vanities and is a load of rubbish!)  Look Homeward Angel is the story of one American family growing up and apart at the turn of the century.  It is one of those big sprawling novels where the whole family is bonkers but all in their own individual way.  It is hard to pinpoint what I loved about it so much but I know I loved it because I felt incredibly sad when I finished reading it and I just wanted to start reading it all over again straightaway.  It’s one of those books where putting it down becomes a wrench.  He’s particularly good on the intimate details of family life and the ebb and flow of human relationships.  A wonderful book!

Leave a Reply

